Tags

, , ,

Two weeks ago I posted Saturday Snapshot February 9: Flying. There I had three photos of a Red-shafted Northern Flicker in a flying sequence. My understanding is that the Red-Shafted Flicker is found in the west, while the Yellow-Shafted one in the eastern part of North America.

Well, I haven’t shown you the larger picture on that Feb. 9 post. Here let me zoom out and show you a larger view:

Red & Yellow-Shafted Flickers

See the two flickers? One Red, one Yellow (look at the tail). How can that be?

Again, the Red-Shafted Northern Flicker:

DSC_0007

and the Yellow-Shafted Northern Flicker:

Yellow-Shafted

Could the Yellow be a hybrid? Looking back at the first photo, its tail is tri-color there. But here, there’s only yellow.

Yellow-shafted Northern Flicker or Hybrid?

I went back to my camera… am I even looking at the same bird here? Or were there a Red, a Yellow, and a Hybrid?

No matter, I’m all intrigued with seeing them together.

***

Thanks to Alyce of At Home With Books for hosting Saturday Snapshots, prodding me to get out of the house to explore what nature has to offer… even in the middle of February.

***

