Tags

, , , , ,

In chilly -5C (23F), snow a foot deep in some areas, the hardest thing is to get out of a warm car. I drove around, actually left the natural park and then, a couple of blocks later, thought about turning back, all because of the flocks of dark spots by the river I saw from afar.

Glad I finally mustered the will to make a U-turn, find a spot to park and part with the story I’ve been listening from the audiobook CD.  I layered up, attached the ice grippers on my shoes (discovered this secret only a year ago), put on toque and gloves, and with my camera gear in tow, stepped out of the car.

Here’s my reward.

From afar, just some tiny black dots on the water…

From afar

 

 

that turned out to be a party of ducks and geese, basking in the afternoon sun on the icy river:

DSC_0406

 

Basking

And from behind tall grass, a buck watching me watching the ducks:

Buck behind grass

Suddenly from the corner of my viewfinder, a pheasant flew into frame. Here’s the serendipitous sequence:

Pheasant 1Pheasant 2Pheasant 3

At another spot, more Mallards gathering, over a hundred of them:

More ducks

These pigeons could only watch.

Pigeon A: Don’t you wish you could swim?

Pigeon B: And get all wet in the icy water? I’m thankful that I can’t swim.

Your guess: which is A? and B?

If only we could swim

 

 

 

In the sky Canada Geese flew by:

DSC_0565

On the ground, remnants of fall:

DSC_0549

 

and some positive human footprints left behind.

DSC_0489

 

And so I learned: Any worthwhile journey began with a step out of a warm car.

Oh, and one more thing… 

Wisdom from the pigeon: Be thankful for what you can’t do. I’ve got lots to be thankful for.

***

This is my post for Saturday Snapshot: Nov. 28. Thanks to West Metro Mommy Reads for hosting. CLICK HERE to see what others have posted.

ALL PHOTOS IN THIS POST TAKEN BY 

ARTI OF RIPPLE EFFECTS

DO NOT COPY OR REBLOG

 

