Tags

, , ,

It was a grey and overcast evening sky. I was driving away slowly, resigned that not everyday had to be a fruitful birding day. And then I saw it.

From afar, it looked mythical, like a miniature Loch Ness monster, still as a statue. I quickly and quietly got out of the car and made my way closer.

Lock Ness ?

The Loch Ness monster doesn’t have a beak, does it?

Lock Ness 2

No mistaking now… I’d come face to face (almost) with a Great Blue Heron:

Face to face

For the next few days, I went back to that pond and experienced some gratifying moments. I saw two Great Blue Herons the next day, albeit hard to get them both together in one frame. Here are some images:

GBH

I’m one who often plays down sheer size. I take pleasure in the small things I can find and not derive joy from how big a bird is. However, I must say, this time seeing the Great Blue Heron makes me see that sometimes size does matter. In comparison with the ducks, the Great Blue Heron distinctly stands out:

GBH Size

GBH preening

Aloof and stoic, the Heron is also very sensitive and camera shy.

Camera shy 1

Seeing me take a few steps closer, it quickly took off. In relatively slow motion, it lifted off with majestic poise. This is what I’ve found: the bigger the bird, the slower the flapping of wings, the more graceful it is in flight. I admit these are not the sharpest pictures, but they are the best shots I could get:

Camera shy

taking off 2

GBH takes off

Landing

I call that a fruitful day.

***

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Metro Mommy Reads. CLICK HERE to see what others have posted.

ALL PHOTOS TAKEN BY ARTI OF RIPPLE EFFECTS

DO NOT COPY OR REBLOG

 ***

 

 

 

 

