Tags

, , , ,

In my last Saturday Snapshot, I posted my serendipitous sighting of a Pelican. One of the largest flying birds, the Pelican has a wingspan of 9 feet, and some weigh close to 30 pounds. The Pelican can fly, amazing at 30 pounds; a butterfly can fly too, equally amazing at 0.5 gram, wingspan averaging 5 cm. I’d love to see the Monarch butterfly. They don’t come by here. Maybe I’ll be able to see some one day when I travel to the east coast. Aren’t they just as mind-boggling? Flying as many as 2,000 miles in migration with such a minuscule body? Where do they put their GPS? Butterfly Something even smaller… What caught my attention are the two seeds like stars. How small and delicate they look compared to the dragonfly: dandelion seeds Here’s another kind of small. Succulent, plump and colourful. Real food for the birds, imaginary treats for me. Don’t they look like round scoops of ice cream? fruits   And the small songbirds in the woods are my favourites. This House Wren is not adorned with bright colours, but a closer look at the different layers of down and feathers you can see the various shades of colours and pattern. And this juvenile looks charming to me:   House Wren Yes, the Pelican is majestic, mesmerizing when it flies. But a tiny Yellow Warbler can make my day too. Looks like the feeling is mutual:

Yellow Warbler

I don’t get to see a Pelican everyday, but these tiny creatures can tide me over till the next serendipity.

***

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by West Metro Mommy Reads. Click Here to see what others have posted.

ALL PHOTOS iN THIS POST TAKEN BY ARTI OF RIPPLE EFFECTS.

DO NOT COPY OR REBLOG

***

