Tags

, , , , ,

Ever since I first read Annie Dillard, I’d wanted to see Puget Sound. But after all these years, I’ve been firmly rooted in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta. My neck of the woods is a boreal forest. So, I’m more at home with spruce trees than sandy beaches. Puget Sound will have to remain on my bucket list.

All through winter, spruce and pines are sustenance, the bulwark and shelter for birds and small creatures that stay behind, and me.

After two days of spring rain, I ventured out just when it broke clear slightly, and was mesmerized by the greens. From among the hardy spruce, the aspens burst out to embrace spring.

 

Walking into the green Ripple Effects

 

 

The tall, slender trunks, each a natural canvas

 

Aspens

 

Colours and textures wrapped around

 

Nature's canvas

 

and moss as paints.

 

Moss on branch

 

Moss on tree stump

 

Nature’s artwork

Moss on tree trunk

 

Moss or fungus? No matter. Here’s life

Moss, Fungi, or Ivory?

 

Monet in Nature

DSC_0296

 

And I couldn’t resist the capture, even though just a common sparrow, obscure, blocked by a branch:

Sparrow

 

Nature’s Artist at work in Annie Dillard’s Puget Sound as well as my Boreal Forest. Her descriptions are strikingly close to what I had experienced.

“I see a hundred insects moving across the air, rising and falling. Chipped notes of birdsong descend from the trees, tuneful and broken; the notes pile about me like leaves.”

 

Despite geographical distances and variance in environs, her words resonate:

“Time and space are in touch with the Absolute at base.”

– Annie Dillard, Holy The Firm

***

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Melinda of West Metro Mommy Reads. CLCIK HERE to see what others have posted.

 Photos in this post taken by Arti of Ripple Effects

Do Not Copy or Reblog

***

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

