Tags

, , , , ,

Since I started birding last September, yesterday was the first time I saw an owl. Thanks to two ladies walking in the area pointing me to this Great Horned Owl.

Look how well he camouflaged himself on the tree. I wouldn’t have sighted him by myself. Can you see an owl on the tree?

See an owl

I must have walked 180° around him to shoot from all sides just to get a clear view. Here’s the back, see how well he blended with the tree?

Backview

A closer front view, eyes wide shut in the late afternoon. Of course, it was sleeping time for him:

Eyes Wide Shut

Half an hour later I went back there, hoping to catch him open his eyes for me. But no, he teased me with just a slit:

Eyes half-openedNo matter. It was a great sighting for me. And I know where to find them now. Apparently, this is father owl and his family is famous in the birding community. They even have their own WEBPAGE.

***

See Mama Owl nesting in this post.

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Alyce of At Home With Books. Do click on the link to see what others have posted.

